Stage 1: St. Jean Pied de Port to Ronceveau

It’s September 28th and it’s morning. I am about to begin my Camino. I got up early to see the city at dawn.  The cobbled stoned Rue de Citadel was still quiet but it belied the activity soon to begin. In a matter of a few minutes, pilgrims began to open doors of the albergues onto the street ready to begin their Way. I walked a few meters to the pilgrims’ office to get my Camino passport stamped and to pick up my shell.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

My shell on my backpack in the photo above.

I spent the night in a pensione owned by a husband and wife. It is actually their home, and they rent out only four of the rooms. Both are pastry chefs, and you can only imagine how exceptional was breakfast.  The door of the pensione opened onto Rue de Citadel which is on the Camino, and which is where I began.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

St_-Jean-PP-11-entry-gate-inside

I made it to Ronceveau but the walk was a trial by fire.  It was physically grueling, and because I started at 9:30 am, I knew that I would arrive in Ronceveau later than I expected.  However I had no idea just how much later I would be, and I had no idea what I was going to encounter.  I did arrive in one piece – but just barely . . . AND 12 hours later. Details in the next post.

Categories: General | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Stage 1: St. Jean Pied de Port to Ronceveau

  1. jim Deredita

    got your message from the 28 th , On the 29 th …..glad all is okay,,,thinking of your day to Ronceveau…..Wow…….. Please .take care of yourself ,,,,, Look forward to your mail tomorrow…Jim

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

